Annamalai University
Home > Faculty of Science > Mathematics


Excel in high-level teaching Research publications in different areas of Pure Mathematics Research publications in applications of Mathematics in different branches of Science and Technology.
Strong foundation in Mathematics
The Department of Mathematics was established in the year 1929, the year of inception of the university. The department was nurtured by stalwarts like Professors A. Narasinga Rao (a world-renowered specialist in Classical Geometry; Head 1929-1946), Professor G.V. Krishnaswamy Iyergar (Head 1946-1950), V. Ganapathy Iyer (a world-renowered specialist in Real Analysis; 1950-1972), G. Sankaranarayanan (a world-renowered specialist in Stochastic Prosesses) etc. They put the Department in the academic map of India right from its inception. Professor S.S. Pillai worked in this Department and he was remembered around the world for his work in Number Theory.
The successive Heads of the Department after Professor G. Sankaranarayanan (1972-1986) were Dr. R. Balakrishnan (1986-1998), Dr. AR. Meenakshi (1998-2004), Dr. P. Paulraja (2004-2012). Dr. N. Thillaigovindan (2012-2014). Dr. Nirmala P. Ratchagar (2014-2017), Dr. R. Sampathkumar (2017-2020), Dr. S. Sriram (2020-2023), Dr. D. Sivakumar is currently the Professor and Head.
The Department was responsible for the creation of three societies, namely, Indian Mathematical Society, Indian Society for Probability and Statistics (ISPS) and the Ramanujan Mathematical Society. These Societies are doing good service to the mathematics community in India and abroad. The Department is also responsible for launching Mathematics Newsletter, funded by the National Board for Higher Mathematics and is being published by the Ramanujan Mathematical Society. Prof. R. Balakrishnan (Head from 1986 to 1998) was the first Chief-Editor of the Newsletter.
The Department has received grants from various funding agencies: DST (FIST, Project Grant), UGC (Non-SAP, SAP, infrastructure, Project grant), and NBHM.
The teaching staff and research scholars have contributed significantly to various branches of Mathematics such as Algebra, Analysis, Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes, Fluid Dynamics, Graph Theory, Fuzzy theory. Currently, thrust areas in the Department are:
  • Algebra and Linear Algebra
  • Fuzzy Theory
  • Fluid Dynamics
  • Graph Theory
  • Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes

Apart from our University research scholarship many research scholars are under fellowships from the funding agencies like DST, UGC, etc.
  • UGC - SAP Fellowship
  • DST - Inspire Fellowship
  • DST - Purse Fellowship
  • OBC - National Fellowship
  • Rajiv Gandhi Fellowship
  • Maulana Azad National Fellowship for Minorities, etc
The Mathematics department can indeed boast of several mathematicians of immense international reputation among its alumni. These individuals have made significant contributions to the field of mathemtics through their groundbreaking research, innovative discoveries, and leadership roles in academia and research institutions. The accomplishments of these distinguished alumni reflect the department's commitment to excellence and its ongoing efforts to nurture talent and inspire future generations of mathematicians.
Programmes Offered
  • M.Sc. Mathematics (Two Year)
  • Ph.D. Mathematics
  • D.Sc. Mathematics
The curriculum of M.Sc. Mathematics is based on TANSCHE recommendation to incorporate the latest developments in the field of Mathematics and to equip students with the knowledge and skills necessary to excel in both academic and competitive examinations such as CSIR-UGC, NET, SLET, and TNPSC.
The Department has a well equiped library with more than 4000 volumes of books and considerable numbers back volumes of Journals in the trust areas. Currently, the Library is supported by NBHM.
Prof. K.S. Padmanaban Director (Rtd.), Ramanujan Institute for Advanced study in Mathematics, University of Madras, Chennai.
Prof. P.L. Kannappan University of Waterloo, Canada.
Prof. V. Krishnamoorthy Former Deputy Director, Birla Institute of Technology and Sicence, Pilani.
Dr. M. Sambandham Former Chairman, Department of Mathematics, More House College, Atlanta, U.S.A.
Dr. P.R. Parthasarathy Professor, Department of Mathematics, IIT Madras.
Dr. A. Krishnamoorthy Former Head, Department of Mathematics, Cochin University of Science and Technology, Cochin.
Dr. R. Ramanarayanan Joint Director (Rtd.), Collegiate Education, Chennai and Former Registrar, Tamilnadu Sports University, Chennai
Dr. V. Thangaraj Director (Rtd.), Ramanujan Institute for Advanced study in Mathematics, University of Madras, Chennai.
Dr. S. Kumaresan Former Dean, School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad.
Dr. T. Tamizh Chelvam CSIR Emertius Professor, Department of Mathematics, Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli.
Research outcome
  • Ph.D’s awarded 247
  • D.Sc’s awarded 2
  • H index: 11
  • Journal Articles: 762
  • Conference Proceedings: 187
  • Cross References:258
  • Book Chapeters:11
  • Books:2
  • Others:86
  • Citations: 827
Highlights of the Department
    1. One Smart class room and Six other class rooms
    2. Computer Lab 2
    3. Research Lab 1
    4. RO water purifiers
    5. Toilets with napkin facilities
Students’ Activities
    1. Mentor-Mentee system
    2. Mathematics Association
    3. Training and placement
    4. Research activities
    5. Sports events



Department of MATHEMATICS
E-Mail :
Mobile. :8122110643