The seed of the main library germinated in 1920 with a token deposit of 200 books, when Sri Meenakshi College was founded.
Then main was initially housed in the eastern wing of the Administrative building. It moved into its present abode in 1959, opening a new chapter in its history.
The building was designed by internationally reputed architects namely Messers. Prynne, Abbot, and Davis and the building was named after the former Vice Chancellor of Annamalai University, Dr.C.P.Ramaswamy Aiyar, in recognition of his valuable services to the country and to this University. The present building was opened by His Excellency Shri.Bishnuram Medhi, the then Governor of Madras, on 22nd October, 1959. Within a built-in area of about 36,000 sq.ft. The building is a "H" shaped structure, with a well controlled entrance lobby, a spacious Central Reading Hall, Reference Hall, Periodicals Hall, and Bindery on the Eastern wing and Administrative Sections, closed access stack-rooms, Reprographic Section in the western wing and open access stack rooms on both the wings.
World Bank Collections
The Annamalai University Library has the unique privilege of being selected as a full-fledged Depository for the World Bank Publications ever since 1986, and through this offer, our library gets the entire publications of the Bank at free of cost, and it is getting renewed every two years, based on the utility of the collections. The World Bank Cell is kept opened in all working days for reference. The photocopy service available inside the library is useful for the researchers to get xerox copy of the collections. The compact discs (CD), contain information collected by the International Bank for reconstruction and development and the index of publications & guide to Information Products, and services of the World Bank are available in discs.
UGC Study Centre
The UGC Study Centre was established in 1975. The main aim of the study centre is to cater to the text book needs of the students for reference by extending the reading hours from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. and 4 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Separate Reading Room to meet the demand of the users who are preparing for the civil service examinations and other entrance examinations such as TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, GATE, CAT has been created, and this section is kept open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
The Library is one of the few University Libraries in the country to have modernised its entire operations.
The automation project was started in the year 1995 with special grant of fifty lakhs rupees received from the UGC-INFLIBNET.
Through the following facilities, the user community will have unique advantage of availing of the library services round the clock.
(1) Online Public Access Catalogue (OPAC)
(2) Circulation Service (Issue, Return & Nil arears)
(3) INTERNET (e-journal) service
(4) CD-ROM Service (MEDLINE Subscription)
(5) Orientation Programmes
The Library is kept open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily, and the Central Reading Hall is kept open upto 10 p.m. during the days prior to the examinations.
The Library works throughout the year, on all Sundays, and on all holidays (except three National Holidays).