About Library
Welcome to Dr.C.P.Ramaswami Aiyar Library
Mission

The University Library strengthens and enhances the teaching, research and service of the University. The Library promotes intellectual growth and creativity by developing collections, facilitating access to information resources, teaching the effective use of information resources and critical evaluation skills and offering research assistance. The Library employs with the ongoing transformations of learning society to deliver world-class physical and digital content and services critical to research, education, and outreach, now and in the future..

Vision

  • To develop, organize, provide access, preserve materials to meet the needs of present and future generations of students and scholars.
  • To explore and implement innovative technologies and services.
  • To deliver information and scholarly resources conveniently to users anytime/anyplace.
  • To provide well-equipped and functional physical spaces to students and faculty for pursuing independent learning and discovery outside the classroom.
  • The seed of the main library germinated in 1920 with a token deposit of 200 books, when Sri Meenakshi College was founded. Then the main library was initially housed in the eastern wing of the Administrative building. It moved into its present abode in 1959, opening a new chapter in its history.

    The Unique Heritage building

    The Unique Heritage building was designed by internationally reputed architects namely Messers. Prynne, Abbot, and Davis and the building was named after the statesman- former Vice Chancellor the eminent scholar of Annamalai University, Dr.Sir C.P.Ramaswamy Aiyar, in recognition of his valuable services to the country and to this University. The present building was opened by His Excellency Shri.Bishnuram Medhi, the then Governor of Madras, on 22nd October, 1959 within a built-in area of about 36,000 sq.ft. The building is a "H" shaped structure, with a well controlled entrance lobby, a spacious Central Reading Hall, Reference Hall, Periodicals Hall, and Bindery on the Eastern wing and Administrative Sections, closed access stack-rooms, Reprographic Section in the western wing and open access stack rooms on both the wings. The access to the Infonet Lab and E-Journals collection are especially for the researchers and staff members who are extended browsing facilities, E-journal access as well.